This is the "Home" page of the "eBooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBooks   Tags: e-books, e-readers, ebooks, ereaders, ipad, ipub, kindle, kobo, nook  

This guide provides an overview of the eBook resources available through the JCC Libraries.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2014 URL: http://sunyjcc.libguides.com/eBooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the JCC Libraries eBooks Guide

The JCC Libraries offer access to eBooks through a number of Web-based services.  Some allow for the easy download of complete eBooks to your PC or mobile device, while others allow you to search their content and download only articles or chapters in the books. 

To access the JCC Libraries eBook collections, you will need:

  • To be a JCC student, faculty or staff member, or a library card-holding resident of the college's service area.
  • A computer with access to the Internet.  (For community residents, some eBook access is limited to use in one of the campus libraries)
  • The appropriate software for the device(s) on which you wish to access the eBook.


 If you don’t have a card? Here's how you can get one.

Image by Jorghex (Own work) [GFDL or CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

 

eReference Sources

In addition to the eBook services represented on the tabs above, the JCC Libraries provide access to a number several eBooks collections that include a variety of almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias and other core reference works.  Most of these collections can be found through the libraries' database lists as well as the eBooks page on the library Web site.

They include:

  • Credo Reference - A general database that contains nearly 600 reference books on a wide variety of subjects. 
  • EBSCO eBooks- An electronic book collection of over 1400 titles in reference, computer science, medicine and health, and 3400 public domain titles.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Subject areas covered by the collection include the arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science, and social science.
  • Oxford Reference Online - The Oxford Reference Online Core Collection provides access to a customized collection of the electronic versions of over 100 classic reference books published by Oxford University Press.
  • Salem Health
  • Salem History
  • Salem Literature
  • Salem Science
 

Ask a Reference Librarian!

Need more help? Ask us!

Hultquist Library
Reference Desk:

Mon. - Thu. 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Fri. 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

[Hours vary between semesters and during college holidays and breaks.]

Call Us:

716.338.1139

Email Us:
JReferenceDesk@mail.sunyjcc.edu

Ask us:

http://sunyjcc.libanswers.com/

Chat with a Librarian:

http://bitly.com/AskUs-JCC


Cattaraugus County Campus
Reference Desk:

Mon. - Thu. 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.

Fri. 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.

Sat. 9 a.m. - 1 p.m. 

Call Us:

716.376.7517

Email Us:
JCCOleanLib@mail.sunyjcc.edu

Ask us:

http://sunyjcc.libanswers.com/

Chat with a Librarian:

http://bitly.com/AskUs-JCC

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip